FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
What are the qualifying medical conditions in Arizona?
The broadest qualifier is any condition causing severe and/or chronic pain.
The following are also qualifying conditions: Cancer, HIV/AIDS, Alzheimer’s, Nausea, ALS, Glaucoma, Crohn’s Disease, Hepatitis C, Cachexia, Seizures, PTSD, and Muscle Spasms.
With PTSD, you must currently be undergoing conventional treatment for a diagnosis of PTSD.
Will I be given a DUI even if there’s no evidence of impairment?
On September 20th, 2015, the Arizona Supreme Court ruled that people with marijuana in their system escape DUI charges if they show they weren’t high enough to be considered impaired. For more on this topic please consult with your lawyer.
Will my employer be able to fire me?
Unless your job requires you to be in a safety sensitive position or you’re obviously medicated on the job, then your job can not fire you simply because your a medical marijuana patient. They could try, but not without legal repercussions.
Will I still be able to purchase and carry firearms in Arizona?
You most likely will not be able to purchase new firearms while you are a medical marijuana patient due to conflicting federal laws. Contact a lawyer or the person who issued your Concealed Weapons Permit for more info.
Why do i need updated medical records?
The state of Arizona requires you must have medical records dated within the last 12 months diagnosing you of your condition. If you do not have any recent medical records, we do have an onsite Pain Specialist offering physicals to help patients up date their records.
Who will know that I have my medical marijuana card?
No one will know about your choice to use medical cannabis except for the doctor you were certified by, AZDHS and anyone you inform of your choice but there is no way to look up a patient except with their MMJ Card number.
How Much Marijuana Am I Allowed To Purchase/Carry Once I have My Card?
Each patient is allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces every 2 weeks and you’re allowed to have up to 2.5 ounces on your persons at any one time.
Will I be able to grow my own marijuana plants?
As a patient, if you live within 25 miles of a dispensary, you are not allowed to cultivate. If you live outside this range, then you can apply for cultivation rights.
Can patients under the age of 18 qualify for an MMJ card?
You can qualify if you’re under 18 but you need permission from your parent or legal guardian, you’ll need 2 doctor certifications, and your parent or legal guardian will have to be your caregiver in order to purchase medicine for the underage patient.
Where do I purchase marijuana after receiving my card?
There are many legal state dispensaries to choose from. Visit Leafly.com to find out the closest one to you.
Can I still get my card if I’m on probation or have been arrested for marijuana?
How long does it take to receive my card in the mail after being certified by the Marijuana Doctor?
It takes about 7-10 business days from the upload date to receive your medical marijuana card in the mail.